Skip to content

The Axis of Anime: ‘My Hero Academia’

“My Hero Academia” is for fans age 12 or older. It is available for viewing on Netflix, Hulu and Crunchyroll.

“My Hero Academia” is about a world where 80% of the population has powers called quirk. The other 10% is born quirkless.

It is based on a school called U.A. and on one class called Class 1-A. A boy in the final year of middle school was bullied by Bakugou Katsuki for being quirkless. Then, he was attacked by a slime villain.

The protagonist, Izuku Midoriya, the boy who is quirkless, charged at the slime villain to try to save Bakugou Katsuki.

There are villains and heroes, and to become a pro hero requires training tests and villains that come after them. Main heroes/students include:

  • Aizawa, pro hero name: EraserHead 
  • All might
  • Midnight 
  • Present Mic
  • Izuku Midoriya, Deku
  • Bakugou
  • All of class 1-A

Follow Class 1-A, pro heroes and villains on the adventure and leap into a world of superpowers and pro heroes.

Rating: 12 years or older